Day 2: Phase 1 begins

When I started at my job in July of 2009 I was 20lbs lighter than I am today. Melody was 18 months old, and was in a school in South Lake Union. Tom wasn’t working and would drop off an pick up Melody every day. I was on Weight Watchers losing my pregnancy weight, and only 5lbs away from my goal.

Over the course of the next two years, Melody’s school closed and we had to find a new one. Tom started a very demanding job, and my department was dismantled and rebuilt, slowly and painfully. One of the reasons I have been miserable and pushed to the breaking point, is that my clothes are too small. Everything is pinchy. I don’t feel good in my own skin.

Everybody knows that office jobs just are bad for you: sitting for more than 8 hours a day; frequent lunches that are too much food; co-workers who love to bake and bring in desserts; sitting in the car for a stressful, ergonomically incorrect commute; eating dinner late when you are famished. The list could go on, but why? You already know this.

I am taking this time in phases. I do best focusing intently on one thing at a time. Phase 1 is recovery. I’m recovering from an unhealthy lifestyle. If my body feels good, everything else will be easier. So, I started today. I’m back in Weight Watchers meetings on Saturdays. I’m tracking again. On Monday, I get to do what I love to do most with my body: hot yoga. It’s probably going to take the full 100 days to get to where I want to be, but each day will be better than the last.

Leave a Reply

