Day 4: Working things out

my home away from home

I think it’s been about six months since I last did hot yoga. Tom and I started going to the official Bikram studio in West Seattle when it opened long before Melody was born. I even did yoga there when I was pregnant with Melody, until I got big enough that it was better for me to be doing pre-natal yoga. When the owners changed at that studio, many of our favorite teachers left and our attendance faltered.

We were pleasantly surprised when Breathe opened in West Seattle. The owner is Amber, one of our favorite teachers from the good old days. It’s a smaller studio, but has showers and it doesn’t smell like sweaty gym socks. They have a screaming deal for new students. It’s $25 for ten classes (to be used within 14 days). Only a real die-hard can use all ten classes in two weeks. I am going to do my best.

After dropping off a very happy Melody at her new pre-school, I easily made it to the 9:30 class. I even ran an errand on my way. I’m not sure if it was just stored up energy that gave me the strength to get through it, or if my body just remembered what to do and how. The class was surprisingly full for being during business hours. It was all women of different ages. They were awesome.

Some people I have spoken to in the last few days seem to have a hard time grasping what I am going to be “doing” now. I find myself being defensive about that question. Is exercising, cleaning, grocery shopping, more cleaning, doing laundry, playing with a child, cooking, and more cleaning “goofing off?” If I had simply taken the day off from work today, would it be seen as a vacation day? This is my job now, and frankly it’s not easy. However, so far I feel sweeping waves of joy throughout the day. There are still a few kinks to work out, but every job has a learning curve right?

4 thoughts on “Day 4: Working things out

  1. Sherry says:

    Hi Harmony. Just dropping a note to let you how much I’m enjoying reading your blog. I’m doing the same – learning to breath again on my first quasi-break from working since I was 14. I’m working part-time now, but fiercely hanging on to the freedom and spaciousness that entered my life when I left a crazy workaholic job behind (i.e. I’ve turned down full-time work, for now). You write well and are expressively articulate. Enjoy your journey and thanks for sharing thoughts I’ve had also. Take care.

    Sherry

    • deedeemama says:

      Thanks Sherry! You are my first comment. It’s exciting to get some feedback. Glad to hear you sounding so happy and grounded.

      • Sherry says:

        Yay, it was fun to be your first post. I wanted you to know that someone was out there reading. Your post #5 today was like you were inside my head, and I really appreciate what your yoga teacher said. Thanks for giving voice to things I’ve experienced, thought, etc. the past few months.

        Here’s an idea you might like: spaciousness. That’s what’s been added to my life and what I will make future choices to preserve.

        Enjoy!

  2. Harmony – you know what I think about you doing this – I think it is fantastic. And I love that you are honestly sharing what you are doing – hopefully to inspire other women and men to do something similar. Part of answering that question, “What are you doing now?” is having to fight against our cultural imperative to be doing something real… for commerce. Claiming your time and space for you – well, that is something that isn’t always accepted, especially as a woman (you mean you are taking time for *you*?)

    I totally applaud you on this journey and for sharing it so others can understand and maybe even stake their own claims – making some sacrifices to make different gains.

    xo

Leave a Reply

