Day 6: Be generous when you are hungry

Melody's playdate today was excellent at sharing.

Somewhere in my travels in the last 24 hours I heard someone say this. I can’t remember if it was on NPR or Twitter. I think they meant it in terms of business. If business is bad, give your services away and it will pick up. It’s been swirling in my head since and I have tried to find opportunities to put it into practice, without actually being in business.

Since our vacation in early August, we have been without financial padding. It’s hard to remember to be austere when you aren’t used to it. With our new arrangement, I am going to have to get used to it. I am not sure there are stresses more intense than only having $100 in your account and three days until any more comes in. I grew up this way. Now, we have the resources to get what we need but, feeling poor is still the same. Your sense of self-worth is low and can be very distracting as you go through your day.

Because of this stress, I chose not to go to Yoga today and instead go find some money. What we do have a lot of right now is stuff, in fact, we are kind of drowning in it. Because we have a young child who needs something new at every growth stage, we have been avid consumers. Today I sold the $200 Britax car seat that Melody grew out of recently. After checking the going rates on Craigs List, I priced it to sell at $40. I had three emails when I woke up this morning.

All I thought about today was getting that $40. When I spoke to a buyer who was stuck at home until 5pm with her two grandsons because she only had one car seat, I determined that I had time to spare and I would bring it to her. Normally I would never deliver a something sold this way, but today I felt generous. When I got there she gave me an extra $5 and that small gesture made me feel rich.

I’ll be back at yoga tomorrow and Tom will get paid at midnight but as money gets tighter in the coming months, I will have to be creative and resourceful with our resources. No matter how tight it gets, I will know that small things in life can make me feel like a million bucks. That’s what these 100 days are all about.

One thought on “Day 6: Be generous when you are hungry

  1. Sheri Hauser says:

    I love this post. $5 that made you feel wealthy!

Leave a Reply

