Day 63: Do the challenges outweigh the opportunities? Not really.

Isn't this Pneumonia pic pretty? (credit: Yale Rosen)

It all started with Thanksgiving. As it approached I got the sneaking suspicion that my progress would be stalled by cooking, shopping, crafting, house guests, pre-school contributions, parties, and other holiday distractions. Little did I know that the holidays were the most benign of my challenges to continue progress on this journey.

On the day after Thanksgiving I had a tickle in my throat. I had been looking forward to my happy hour with Laura and was in no mood to cancel on account of a small annoyance. I chose to try and burn it out by drinking whiskey. On Saturday night Tom and I had tickets to Visqueen’s final show (not sorry I went and you shoulda been there) and my mom was lined up to babysit. For anyone who has had to pay, FREE BABYSITTING is one of those magical opportunities not to be taken lightly. I rested all day so I could rally. I drank Whiskey, and then later moved on to Hot Toddies. By the way, Brian at The Sitting Room makes one that should cure any cold.

By Sunday morning I was all in sick. So was Melody. We both took it easy all day and by Monday at noon, I felt like I was in the clear. I had been drinking fresh ginger tea and was ready to get outside. I took Melody to the park to play with her friend. Well, it was a bit colder than it first seemed and by the time I got home I was backsliding. By Wednesday at 5pm I was sobbing to Tom on the phone to get the hell home because I was running a fever of 101, and that he better work from home tomorrow so I can go to the doctor.

Doc says I have Pneumonia. It’s early stages and cured by antibiotics, but it’s still terrible. He told me that the pills were not a get out of jail free card and I still have to rest and it’s still going to suck. The deep hacking cough may linger for weeks. Oh joy. Shortly after I got home from my diagnosis, my brother called me to tell me that he’s been kicked out of his apartment, and there is a warrant out for his arrest on Class C Felony charges, oh and mom is sick too. Oh joy.

Would it surprise you that I have written two posts in 7 days? I hope you don’t loose faith in me. At least I will have more time to write as I am forced to spend the majority of my day not doing anything physical. In fact, I think I will make a list of the upsides of this incredibly bad streak of luck.

  1. I will post more often.
  2. I cannot drink on meds so I am getting out of the habit of the nightly wind down cocktail(s).
  3. I always stop my occasional cigarette habit when I get start to get sick. This time I am NEVER going back.
  4. My appetite was already reduced due to not being able to smell, now the meds have killed it alltogether. So no overeating.
  5. Since I can’t really stand cooking right now (and who wants me coughing in their dinner) there is less of a focus on food overall.
  6. I now have plenty of time to play with the Ipad that Tom won in a raffle recently. Flipboard is my new addiction.
  7. Christmas cheer might be a bit scaled down this year and no one can really fault me for that.
  8. My brother might actually go to therapy for his anger issues like I have been telling him too.
  9. Melody can bond with her dad more, while I lock myself in the bedroom as to not be a climbing gym or coloring table.
  10. You all understand that some of these days don’t count (DO OVER!) and this blog is now guaranteed to go a bit more than 100 days.
One thought on “Day 63: Do the challenges outweigh the opportunities? Not really.

  1. Sherry says:

    Forced slowdowns have a purpose (and often a message). Heal well. Take good care of yourself.

Leave a Reply

