Day 88: Why I like weekdays better than weekends.

A rare moment of peace in Melody's room

As the aspects of this new way of living become commonplace, I have to admit that I look forward to Mondays. I shouldn’t have to remind anyone that being a mom is a full time job (but I often do).  Being a stay-at-home mom is a job with no sick days, vacation days, personal days, holidays or weekends.

With Melody going to preschool I get 20 hours a week to myself. Those 20 hours are my favorite. No one is talking at me. I get to go on auto pilot – my brain works things out. Mid morning is always my most energetic time of day and I feel clear headed and powerful. The house stays tidy when she isn’t here and I actually feel like I am making progress.

I don’t get those blocks of time on weekends and holidays. Four-day weekends are the worst. Melody’s school was closed this Friday and Monday for the Christmas holiday. To make matters worse, all the places Tom usually takes her to give me some time alone were also closed for the holiday weekend. I am completely drained, disoriented and frustrated. Today I was robbed of my blessed Monday. I am counting the hours until 9 am Tuesday. Then I get to do it all over again next weekend. Another damn 4 day weekend! UG!

Believe it or not, I do remember what it was like to hate Mondays. I remember the joy of shutting down my computer at 3pm on Wednesday of Thanksgiving weekend. I don’t know when I will ever feel that joy again.

One weekend I am actually looking forward to is Startup Weekend. Tom has agreed to take 100 percent charge of Melody for the weekend. On my day #106 I will leave my mommy duties in capable hands to attend a 54 hour event of non-stop work. At the end of the event at 9pm on Sunday night, I hope to have bonded with a team of like minded geeks hell bent on launching the next big thing. Talk about jumping back into work with two feet.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

