Day 98: Domestic Distractions

My dashing husband in the hat I just finished for him

One would think that, during the final countdown to Day 100, you would be seeing a blog post per day with all sorts of stunning insights and revelations. Sorry, I’ve been knitting.

I obsess over knitting. Once I start a project I can’t put it down. It’s like a page-turner. I just want to get to the next step – just one more row. I stay up way too late, until my eyes are crossing and twitching. I remember my first project. I think I even played hooky from work so I could sit on the couch all day and knit.

In the last 100 days I did a bit of knitting here and there. I finished the sleeves on a humongous sweater. I knit myself a hat, as shown in one of my self-portraits. I had lost the previous hat last spring and was pleased that I could recreate it with yarn I got 2 birthdays ago. I did a Barbie dress for Melody’s dolls – seemed sane when I started it, but the end of it I was cursing myself. I also did a series of washcloths because I didn’t know what else to do. I even took my knitting on my trip to the South, and brought them with me to Melody’s play dates so I would have something to do.

I can’t knit when Melody isn’t occupied. She comes over and pulls on the yarn ball (a terrifying feeling for a knitter) and says “I wanna KNIT!, Teach me to KNIT!” I tried once to teach her to knit and it was pretty futile. Three year-olds just don’t have the hand eye coordination required. It’s ridiculous that I ever thought otherwise.

Tonight I finished Tom’s new hat. He was still wearing a hat I made him two years ago with ear flaps. It was my 3rd project ever and was a bit too small and not warm enough. On Monday I picked up a knitting book at the Library called Knitting on the Edge. It’s the coolest book full of all sorts of fancy borders. As I was oohing and ahhing over it’s photos, Tom reminded me he wanted a new hat. I dove in immediately that very night. If I hadn’t finished the new hat tonight, I probably wouldn’t have written anything here. Where are my priorities? With domesticity I guess.

Turns out I love all things domestic. You name it: cooking, cleaning, sewing, knitting, embroidery, mending, decorating, organizing, child rearing, shopping, well… sometimes, laundry… no wait, I hate that. Never mind – I just love the creative parts of home-making.

Part of the reason why I was in such a hurry to finish the hat is that I may be starting a part-time contract on Monday – the first possible day I can take paid work. The schedule I described on Day 92 was read by someone who wanted to put it into practice. I will have a lot less time for little domestic projects as I move into the next phase of my new life. I am about to be a very busy lady, and I am really looking forward to it.

Since I am going to be catching up with a dear friend tomorrow night, I will not be writing on Day 99. I will however be posting the longest and most thorough entry of this entire saga on the fabled Day 100. At that time I’ll let you know a little bit more about my new venture. Time to go and clean up my knitting basket and put it away, at least for a while, until I have time to start on my next project: socks for Melody.

Tagged

4 thoughts on “Day 98: Domestic Distractions

  1. 1 – Yay! What an amazing journey! I’ve loved following.
    2 – I love domestic stuff and will trade you cleaning for ironing any day. I love ironing and find it relaxing.
    3 – you must come to my place sometime and leaf through some of our knitting books – then I can scan the patterns. Lorraine is an awesome knitter, and I am ok.
    Beth

  2. deedeemama says:

    Thanks so much for your feedback Beth! Let’s totally have a knitting date. I can bring my books over and we can drink wine and knit together. Maybe towards the end of this month?

  3. […] around day 100, you pointed out to me that, in all that time, I barely wrote about you. And some of what I did […]

  4. […] It’s been a while since I pulled out my sewing machine. It’s been even longer since I started a new sewing project (years?).  Yet, sewing has been on my mind a lot lately. So has the pile of fabric and sewing supplies I have stashed away in odd corners of the house. It’s one of my many hobbies. […]

Leave a Reply

